|
|
Like this article? PLEASE +1 it! |
|
How to be successful with banner advertising?
|
| Guest post by: Ghyslain Lefebvre |
Article Overview: Banner advertising is a great way to advertise your business, product or service. It is quite inexpensive and can be quite powerful if done correctly. There are several steps you should follow if you are considering using banner advertizing as a method of marketing for your business. I will be taking you step by step on how to set up your banner advertising campaign. How to be successful with banner advertising? Alright let get busy…
![]() |
Free Download - The 5 Key Components of Every Top Producer in Network Marketing By Ghyslain Lefebvre |
How to be successful with banner advertising?
Banner advertising is a great way to advertise your business, product or service. It is quite inexpensive and can be quite powerful if done correctly. There are several steps you should follow if you are considering using banner advertizing as a method of marketing for your business. I will be taking you step by step on how to set up your banner advertising campaign. How to be successful with banner advertising? Alright let get busy...
First what is banner advertising? A "web banner" or "banner ad" is a form of advertising on the Internet. This form of online advertising entails embedding an advertisement into a web page. It is intended to attract traffic to a website by linking to the website of the advertiser. The advertisement is constructed from an image (GIF, JPEG, PNG), JavaScript program or multimedia object employing technologies such as Java, Shockwave or Flash, often employing animation, sound, or video to maximize presence. Images are usually in a high-aspect ratio shape (i.e. either wide and short, or tall and narrow) hence the reference to banners. These images are usually placed on web pages that have interesting content, such as a newspaper article or an opinion piece.
A banner advertising campaign is fairly easy to set up. It will take approximately 3 hours to set up for the first few times but will get easier and shorter as you get more experience. There is minimal maintenance once your campaign is started. Usually the results will be slow at first but will gradually increase. This is very similar to television advertising where advertisers know that it take on average for a potential customer to see your add 3 to 7 times before they take action.
It is important that you know how banner advertising works. Learn the terminology...
Impression: Each time your banner ad loads on a website, this is considered an "impression."
Click: Each time someone clicks on your actual banner; this is counted as a "click."
Conversions: When someone fills out the form on your website, this is considered a "conversion" (or lead).
CPM - Cost Per Thousand: This is a method of measuring how much you will pay for a banner ad. Often times you are charged "on a CPM basic" which means you are charged for every thousand impressions. A "$2 CPM" means you pay $2.00 for every thousand impressions your banner ad receives. Be wary of sites that charge more than $4 to $5 CPM for banner ad placements. $2.00-$2.50 is ideal, but we've seen sites out there charging up to $15 CPM, which is very high.
CPA - Cost Per Action: This is a method of measuring how much you will pay for a banner ad, based on the actions taking. An action can be considered a click, or it can be considered a conversion. If a website offers banner advertising on a "CPA basis" this means you only pay when someone actually clicks on your ad (as opposed to impressions).
CTR - Click through Rate: This is the ratio of impressions to clicks. For example, if there are 1000 impressions (or page views) on a website and 10 people click on the banner ad, that would be a CTR of 1%
Cost per Conversion: How much it costs you to get one lead. If you spend $30 and you received 8 leads, than your cost per conversion is $3.75. Cost Per Action - If your specified action is a "click," and you spent $30 to get 100 clicks, than your cost per action, or cost per click, would be $0.33.
Publisher: These are the websites that accept advertising on their site.
Advertiser: The individual or company placing the banner advertisement (you).
A few tips to keep in mind. Always make sure your ad is above the fold. What this means is people don't have to scroll down on the website to see you add. Some website will try to take advantage to new entrepreneurs and will charge you $3-$15 per 1000 impression. Never pay more than $2 per 1000 impressions especially when you are new. You want to be able to see which one of your ad works and which one doesn't without investing too much money.
3 steps to your banner research:
Step One: Understanding How Websites Make Money: Closely examine the websites you look at to decipher if they're selling advertising space (i.e. banner advertisements, text advertisements, Google's Adsense ads, etc.), selling a product or service, or a combination of the two.
Step Two: Create a List of Websites to Research
- 1. What Sites Do I Visit? Start by looking at websites and blogs you personally visit.
- 2. 2. Choose a Target Market: This can be anything ... teachers, motorcycle enthusiasts, college football fans, investors, entrepreneurs, small business owners, dancers, golfers, etc.
- 1. Alexa.com: Go to Alexa.com and type in the URL of the website you're researching. You can find a wealth of research on websites on Alexa. Specifically, however, you are looking for the overall traffic rank as well as traffic rank by country, related links (you can get ideas for other websites to research here) and keywords (it's helpful to know what search terms are used when the site comes up in a search). In very general terms you are looking for websites with a traffic rank between 1 and 100,000
- 2. 2. Examine the Website: Quality Content: Does this website offer the reader valuable content or does it look like the Las Vegas strip with a flood of blinking and flashing banner ads?
- a. Step One: Understanding Advertising Rates: Most websites post a "rate card" on their site letting potential advertisers know how much they charge for advertising space.
- b. Step Two: Understanding Placement: Without question you want to be "above the fold"
- c. Step Three: Start Small: While you may be pressured for a long-term contract at a "special rate", it is always advisable to start with a smaller budget for shorter time period.
- d. Step Four: Submit Banner
To your success
Ghyslain
Related Articles
|
About the Author: Ghyslain Lefebvre RSS for Ghyslain's articles - Visit Ghyslain's website
Ghyslain Lefebvre has been an internet marketer since the beginning of 2009. After 6 months, he became successful and started working full time. His team is from all over the world including Israel, UK, Canada, US and much more. Now he shares what he has learned with other like minded individuals.
Learn how you can turn your yearly income into your monthly income working from home with or without internet or marketing experience. Visit http://7figureincomethisyear.com/ or Find Freedom Here
"My happiness depends on your success" Click here to visit Ghyslain's website Learn to Give Value Entrepreneurs Do You Have Mental Toughness Steps to build a Successful Online Business Why Twitter Effective low budget internet marketing strategies |
Related Forum Posts
Share this article with your friends. Fund someone's dream.
Leave a comment below or share on the left and you'll help support entrepreneurs in Africa through our partnership with Kiva. Over $50,000 raised and counting - Please keep sharing! Learn more.
Get advice & tips from famous business
owners, new articles by entrepreneur
experts, my latest website updates, &
special sneak peaks at what's to come!
Email us your ideas on how to make our
website more valuable! Thank you Sharon
from Toronto Salsa Lessons / Classes for
your suggestions to make the newsletter
look like the website and profile younger
entrepreneurs like Jennifer Lopez.


