Feedback Form
Home Features Mastermind Forums About Advertise Blog Network Contact Be An Author

Can you imagine advertising that costs nothing?

Can you imagine advertising that costs nothing?

So your ad better be relevant and then when your prospective customer clicks on the ad, the first page they see should also be relevant to what they want, thus encouraging them to take action to either contact you or buy from you.

So which form of advertising should you use for your company – take a look at the list below and remember, will it give you a great return on the money you spend:

* Local Broadcasting,
* Nation-wide broadcasting,
* Cinema adverts,
* Newspapers, magazines,
* Directories, classified ads,
* Flyers,
* Brochures, catalogues,
* Posters,
* Online, Banners,
* Pay Per Click,
* Outdoor, Billboards,
* Eye-catchers,
* Advertising in motion and others.

Pay per Click which Will Force You to Buy a Safe
When I first heard of Google Adwords, I thought it was not so important among the communicational mix of the company I was working for at that time. Nevertheless, soon I realised, that the Adwords were the leading form of their advertising and that the managing director considered it the most effective one as well.

No magazine ads any more, nor TV or radio spots. Well, that was their opinion then, today I'm not fully supporting this viewpoint. I think that the synergy effect you can create using more communicational channels at a time, supporting one another, is the way every marketing expert should follow.

But let's come back to the bit about Google Adwords… It's a fabulous advertising tool as you pay only when people click on your website. Well, no miracle, you might say, but the trick is that these people clicking on your website are ready to buy. They are looking for you, you don't have to look for them any more! You just create your campaigns, track, adjust and measure them continuously and then count money you get!

OK, before you start blaming me of promoting Google, I want to mention that you can measure and track literally every single click! You don't have to develop sophisticated tables and insert hard survey data after every campaign. The reports are created automatically, you just choose what you want to see and how often the reports should be generated.

Why This Miracle?
Launched in 1998, the Google Adwords Program is now the leader in the pay-per-click search engine industry. Contrary to its competitors, Google doesn't list ads by only considering your bid or Cost-Per-Click (CPC). Google also checks if your clickthrough rate (CTR) is high:

CTR = Number of clicks your ad received / Number of times your ad is shown (impressions)

High CTR = 1 / 20 = 5.50 %

Low CTR = 1 / 2000 = 0.05 %

It means that with traditional pay-per-click search engines, you have to bid more than your competitors if you want to get ranked first. With Google, you also have to get a higher CTR as your position is determined by multiplying your CTR by your CPC: Position = CTR × CPC.

In short, it doesn't matter how often your ad appears and how much you pay. The key thing is that people have to click on your ad. Therefore your key phrase or keywords have to be relevant to the search. If your keywords achieve at least 1.5 % CTR, it means that they are relevant.

How will Your Success Happen?
Maybe you are now asking yourself: well, that's nice, but how do I start? Or maybe you have already started but having created a few ads, you simply didn't get the results you had expected.

The first step indeed, is to get your whole marketing strategy right. You need to understand where the real value of your products or services is to your customers. What THEY value. However, this is another story and I cannot start writing about this issue because I would create another ebook or something…

Once you know why your customers value your offering, you will get a better idea on which keywords to choose for your Google Adwords campaigns. Try to understand which words or phrases do people interested in buying from you type into Google search when they are looking for your website.

Find as many of them as possible: every guru on Google Adwords recommends the Keyword selector tool availabe at http://inventory.overture.com/ so I can just follow them. Anyway, the data you'll get there are for the whole world, that's why I suggest that Irish businesses use its UK version: http://inventory.uk.overture.com/.

You just put your main keyword in the box there, press enter and see what happens. It will spit you dozens of keyword phrases based on your search term that people looked for in Yahoo over the last month. You can just copy and save them and you can continue with another keyword that expresses your offering well.

Having at least 100 of appropriate phrases relevant to what you offer, you can now go to www.google.com/adwords, sign in and follow the instructions. Google people are really working hard to make this procedure as easy for users as possible.





Can you imagine advertising that costs nothing - To learn more about this author, visit Peter Lawless's Website.

Like this article? Share it with your friends

Article Feedback
 Article Feedback No article feedback found.
  Leave Your Feedback
article feedback

Article Feedback
Kim Castle
With nearly two decades in the advertising and design business, with clients like Domino's Pizza, General Motors, Direct TV, Pedigree, Wolfgang Puck, Higher Octave Music, Hollywood Celebrity Products, Disney, and Paramount, as well as thousands of entrepreneurs around the world define, structure, communicate, and position their business for greater profits, BrandU(R) co-creators Kim Castle and W. Vito Montone discovered that entrepreneurs could experience the same power that big brands command for a fraction of the cost with the world's only process-based results-drive Integral approach to business creation. BrandU(R) is helping entrepreneurs grow with the power of extreme clarity from idea...to brand...to market(TM) and helping one million entrepreneurs become successful and whole so that they can make a difference in the world. Are you one of them? If you want to experience clarity all the way to the bank(TM), get started now at http://www.brandu.com. - Visit Kim Castle's Website

David Acheson
David Acheson is the founder of DCJA Consultancy. DCJA Consultancy is a management consultancy business specialising in B2B sales consultancy. They offer bespoke and packaged sales consultancy including Sales Optimisation Review, Interim Sales Management, Sales & Marketing Review, 1:1 Sales & Management Staff Analysis, Management Training, Solution Sales Training, Creation of New Pay Plan, KPI's, run Customer Feedback Campaigns, assist with Recruitment, Coaching, Appraisals and set up Strategic Marketing Campaigns.  David spent his early career in accountancy and then moved into sales in 1982, working in Office Equipment, IT, Advertising, Training, Outsourcing and Consultancy. He has held many Senior Positions in SMBs and Global Organisations including Head of Sales Operations & Head of Business Development. His knowledge, skills and great experience of the Sales Industry has led to David making keynote speeches and running educational sessions to key businesses through organisations including The Chamber of Commerce and Business Link. - Visit David Acheson's Website


To learn more about the Evan Elite Author Program please contact us.

About The Author


Peter Lawless
(Visit Peter's Website) Peter Lawless is a renowned as public speaker, marketing consultant and coach and sales trainer in Ireland for people who want success. If you are reading this and decide to see great benefit from taking action on this article, how much more will you get if you just visit 3R for sales, training, marketing and coaching services?

Peter Lawless is a Platinum author on EvanCarmichael.com
About The Author

View Author Blog
View Author Blog

View Author Video
View Author Video

Free Downloads


Peter Lawless's

Complete
List Of
Marketing
Articles

Name
Email
If you enjoyed this article, get Peter Lawless's Complete List of Marketing Articles For FREE!

More Peter Lawless
4 Steps to Guarantee Business Survival
Imagine SuperCharging client meetings
What should my marketing budget be
Give one away free to your customer Right Now
10 musthaves for your website Avoid the mistakes 95 of business owners let their web designers away with
Even YOU could sell snow to the Eskimos
Does your Accountant provide value or are they just a cost
Marketing Dont they know its good for them
Can you imagine advertising that costs nothing
Extracting company profits to invest in property using your pension
Free Downloads


 
 
 


Evan Elite Authors
John Brennan  
Jeff Foster  
George Ludwig  
Evan Elite Authors

Become An Author
Have you written articles that would be of value to entrepreneurs? Become an expert on our site by publishing them! Expose yourself to a wide audience, drive more traffic to your website and get more sales! Click Here for details.
Become An Author

Evan's Latest Video
Modeling the Masters: Learn the true secrets behind Walt Disney's business success factors & grow your company! Video produced by Phanta Media
Evan's Latest Video

Business Opportunities
"Learn straight from Evan how you can Make a Full Time Income (And More) from a Website"

How to Start An Online Business

Click Here To Learn More
Business Opportunities



Evan's Newsletter
Get advice & tips from famous business owners, new articles by entrepreneur experts, my latest website updates, & special sneak peaks at what's to come!
Name:
Email:
Evan`s Newsletter

Free Downloads
SEO Made Easy Icon SEO Made Easy
Intentional Leadership Integrity Icon Intentional Leadership Integrity
FREE Twitter Background in PSD Icon FREE Twitter Background in PSD
The $1000 Show Icon The $1000 Show
Human Resources Checklist Icon Human Resources Checklist
Free Downloads - Complete List

Entrepreneur Tools and Guides
Top 50 HR Blogs 2009
Top 50 HR Blogs 2009
Top 50 HR Blogs 2009
 
Top 50 Social Media Blogs
Top 50 Social Media Blogs
Top 50 Social Media Blogs
 
Entrepreneur Tools and Guides

SEO For Africa
SEO For Africa
Blaise Gnagnipone Lomé, Togo,
Blaise Gnagnipone
Lomé, Togo
SEO For Africa

If I Were A Startup...
Brian Scudamore, $200k to $8 Mil in 5 years
Brian Scudamore
$200k to $8 Mil in 5 years
Gord Hotchkiss, $113k to $1.5 Mil in 5 years
Gord Hotchkiss
$113k to $1.5 Mil in 5 years
If I Were A Startup... - Complete List

Famous Entrepreneurs
Julie Aigner-Clark, Baby Einstein
Julie Aigner-Clark
Baby Einstein
Estee Lauder, Estee Lauder
Estee Lauder
Estee Lauder
Famous Entrepreneurs - Complete List

Entrepreneur Advice
Michael Gerber, The E Myth
Michael Gerber
The E Myth
Ask Michael Gerber, Reader Questions
Ask Michael Gerber
Reader Questions
Entrepreneur Advice - Complete List

Popular Articles
(Premium Authors)


Have A Suggestion?
Toronto Salsa Classes / Toronto Salsa Lessons Email us your ideas on how to make our website more valuable! Thank you Sharon from Toronto Salsa Lessons / Classes for your suggestions to make the newsletter look like the website and profile younger entrepreneurs like Jennifer Lopez and Sean Combs!
Have A Suggestion?

More Evan Carmichael
More Information